the haps

I went to a wonderful party over at CreoleinDC’s spot on Sunday. I ate WAY to much gumbo, way too much jerk chicken, way too many cookies and God knows I drank WAY to much wine. Needless to say it was an AWESOME party. The Usual Suspects  are cool as hell, despite the brief yet racy conversation on subject matter that left my mouth wide the hell open. I don’t know if I was more surprised that the subject was brought up in the first place or that our hostess let it go on as long as it did. It was a pearl clutching moment to the highest degree I assure you. Once we got back on track, we had some serious girl talk about life matters and I have to say again, the Usual Suspects are cool as hell. After a couple hours of more wine, gift exchanges, cookies and more wine, we all left with huge kool aid grins, and bags overflowing with cookies- all looking forward to our next event in January. SOME of us, who will go unnamed also scored gumbo and jerk chicken to go. Good times.

What else? I actually took more than a two day stretch off from work. I was off from Friday -Wednesday. I went out of town just to get away and I had a great time. Since I moved though, I have to say that I look forward to coming HOME almost as much as I look forward to taking a vacation in the first darn place. At a certain point, I can’t wait to get in OUR shower using OUR soaps and watching OUR cable on OUR couch. The closer I got to VA, the more excited I got about walking in the front door. I was worried bout the damn tree. I got a real live Christmas tree this year. Even though I left it unplugged, folks had me thinking it would spontaneously combust or something. Geez. Next year I might go artificial cause honestly, even though my tree is gorgeous, it sucks up a LOT of water and its shedding pine needles EVERYWHERE. I’m also getting a little tired of the whole house smelling so strongly of PINE ALL DAY AND ALL NIGHT!LOL. I would NEVER admit it to a certain person because as with most things I was hellbent on getting this tree but, I think I’m kinda over it. SSSSH. Don’t tell nobody. Check out the home depot guy and my tree.tree-home-depot.jpg

While I was on vacation, we caught I am Legend at the Imax theatre. Wonderful. Will Smith is growing on me. In all honesty, sometimes he seems a bit “iffy” to me and I obsess over his every movement as proof of this, but this time I was engrossed in the movie from beginning to end and made only one comment about his “suspectedness”. Loved it.

Before the movie, they showed a teaser for the new Batman movie next year. I couldn’t find the  actual trailer they showed, but I did find something.

 Check this out. Awesome huh? I never liked Batman before Christian Bale but I had one of the only grown folks dreams I can remember and Christian Bale as Batman was all up in through so now I’m a fan, LOL. Sssh! Don’t tell nobody.

During my absence from work, my office completed a relocation that was a year in the works. I’m going from the Tysons corner area to somewhere out near the Leesburg Outlets. My coworkers have been in place since Monday. I’m starting to feel overwhelmed because I don’t even know how to GET to the new offices, let alone what building I need to go to, how to get to my area….I’m just thinking about working from home tomorrow too so I can just put this off til Monday. I’m so not looking forward to it. It doesn’t help that my new cube is right outside my boss’s office as well as my boss’s boss’s office. Sigh. Fun times indeed. Apart from my anxiety about the changes at work, I have to say I’m in a good place right now. A damn good place. This has been one of the craziest, scariest years I’ve had since 2003 and I am Oh so grateful that it seems to be going out on such a peaceful note.

To all those who declared my blog the lamest of them all, I’m back beetches.

One more thing…

Suspectedness red flag:

Men who go out for cocktails as opposed to going out for drinks.  Too swishy for my taste. But thats just me.

6 thoughts on “the haps

  1. That conversation starter was waaaaaay to grown for me…LOL!!!! I am glad you had a nice break from work. I can’t wait to see you again in January for the next event.

  2. (came over via CreoleInDC’s site)

    Will=love for me. I doubt I will make it over to see the movie. I tend to forget that movies exist until I see the commercials. I’m more of a wait-till-it-comes-out-on-DVD type person.

    Hope you have a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

