I hate everyone involved

hotmess.jpg

Coming to DVD direct, introducing Confessions of a Thug, the HIP HOP MUSICAL. ( read it again, I didn’t make it up I promise.)

This synopsis is taken directly from Amazon.com

“This scorching hard-hitting Hip-Hop musical comes directly from the streets, at the intersection where high crime, redemption and revenge meet. Through slamming rap music performances and dramatic action Southboy (Daron Fordham, Black Spring Break) a college educated street hustler, continues his higher learning on the mean streets under the wing of a retired mob boss (John Martino, The Godfather). Though the journey is dangerous, his eyes remain on the prize – to become a kingpin and find the family he has never known. As the music plays, deals are made and bodies drop. Will Southboy survive the Feds, snitches and golddiggers or will the streets destroy him?”

O the drama of it all. I’m sorry, I don’t know if I can stomach seeing a crack dealer break out into freestyle every five minutes. Its too much. TOO MUCH.  People go too far.

They’re marketing this as “Jay Z” inspired. Shameless, I tell you. 

I was going to post a video clip of the movie but I have a low tolerance for ghetto ish and they surpassed that in the first two seconds of the clip. A HOT MESS!! I’m not even giving you a link to the video clip. If for some reason beknownst only to God himself you need to see it, you’re really gonna have to google it.

 If you do PLEASE come back and tell me what you thought. There is, of course, always the possibility that I’m just overreacting and not being open minded enough.

Humph.

5 thoughts on “I hate everyone involved

  1. I saw the Confessions Of A Thug and it was one of the most refreshing hip-hop movies I’ve seen in a long time. Yeah, on the suface it seems like another “crack dealer drama” flick but the film has some great points and more than just a few surprises. The music is great just for the simple fact you can actually understand the guy who’s rappin (for once). I am a true fan of yours Lesley but you missed the boat on this one. Confessions Of A Thug is a winner. The film has won numerous awards and was at the center of an intense bidding war between several studios. When you watch it you’ll see why that was so. It’s not Gone With The Wind but it is a “must see” urban movie. Final note, as far as the Jay-Z thing. Jay-Z made a musical called Streets Is Watchin back in 1998. It was sort of an underground thing but that’s the inspiration the filmmaker is referring to in regards to Jigga man. Love you girl and keep up the good work, AB

  2. Adam,
    Thanks so much for your opinions on this movie but since I’m not one for musicals anyway ( Dreamgirls is the ONLY musical I have seen), the idea of one based on this subject matter is just not at the top of my list. I am going to have to take your word for it on this one.

    Has anyone else seen this and found it surprisingly well crafted? Speak up, I want to know about it!

Leave a Reply

