tgif?

A friend of mine and I were discussing this whole dating thing recently. We were going over what kind of expecations I had about men, dating, relationships and all that. I really wasn’t sure. To be honest, when I see myself single, I see myself alone. I am so far from even THINKING about someone else. (See yesterday’s post:I’m not even hardly ready for that yet). To coax me into getting in touch with the possibility of dating again one day, she started asking me about first dates, and what would be a perfect date for me. I like to think I’m open minded and spontaneous and I think a perfect date would be dictated by the chemistry that I felt with the person I’m with. So again, I had no answer for her. Frustrated, she rolled her eyes at me and said ” So if some guy came to pick you up and you were looking all cute, and he took you to Friday’s on your first date, would you keep seeing him.”

Silence. Not because I didn’t have an answer, but because I didn’t want to hear her response to my answer. In all honesty, Friday’s is fine. It is. I have a 12 year old daughter who loves Friday’s. If we’re out shopping, she’ll ask if we can do lunch there. Its fine. Really. For lunch with a 12 year old on a busy day. I think that if a man felt that a Friday’s was appropriate for a date with me, then he has me all wrong. Like I said, there is nothing wrong with Friday’s, but if he’s talked to me enough to earn a first date, I’m sure nothing that I would have spoken to him about would have led him to believe that a plate of Jack Daniels ribs was the answer for a first evening out with me. If he were the type of man who thought Friday’s was a “fancy” restaurant, then hell, we’d have problems all around because we wouldn’t be on the same page at all. Of course, after having finally gotten an answer from me, she was all kinds of upset. (Just like I thought she’d be).  I can never explain the Friday’s test in a way to not come off as some stuck up chick who wants someone to empty their pockets to try to impress me. That’s not the case at all. To me, its more a matter of taste and style vs money. My taste does not make provisions for Friday’s on a first date and it goes deeper than how much money is spent. If money were an issue there are lots of other options that would make greater impact than a TGIFs. The type of man that I’m attracted to would know that.

So no. I won’t be dating soon. Hell, I’m still trying to figure out what I’m doing NOW. I do know, that when I am tossed back into the dating pool, any man who fails the Friday’s test shouldn’t even bother asking for a second date.

Leave a Reply

